Phantom Fireworks

Fireworks
University

Lighting Up Backyards of America from Coast to Coast®

My List Total:0
List / Cart

Fireworks Laws

 

Alabama

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Items that comply with regulations of the CPSC, DOT definitions, and trick noisemakers.
Specifically Prohibited Manufacture, possession, sale or use of ground salutes containing more than 2 grains of explosive composition; any mail-order fireworks.
Selling Period June 20-July 10 and December 15-January 1 Sales from tents or motor vehicles are prohibited.
Age of Purchase 16 years, unless accompanied by adult.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to State Fire Marshal at least 10 days before display date.
Insurance None specifically required in state law.
Operator No license specifically required in state law.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  Safe storage areas as specified in law.


LICENSING
  Annual licenses required, by calendar year expiring
December 31. Apply to State Fire Marshal.
Minimum age 18 years.
Manufacturer $ 1000
Distributor $ 1000
Wholesaler $ 350
Retailer $ 100
Seasonal retailer $ 100 (prior 7/10)
Seasonal retailer $ 50 (after 7/10)
Display $ 25


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  State of Alabama
Fire Marshal’s Office
P.O. Box 303352
Montgomery, AL 36130-3352
334-241-4166
www.aldoi.org/FireMarshal.asp


LAW NUMBER
 Alabama Law Sec. 8-17-210 et seq.

 

Alaska

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Roman candles, skyrockets, helicopter rockets, cylindrical and cone fountains, wheels, torches, colored fire, dipped sticks, mines and shells, firecrackers with soft casings, and novelties (size limitations specified.)
Specifically Prohibited All fireworks that are not defined as salable consumer fireworks.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to State Fire Marshal.
Insurance Required. Minimum $1,000,000 for personal injury and death, minimum $500,000 for property damages.
Operator State certification required. Pyrotechnics operator must take written test.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  2000 International Fire Code Chapter 33


LICENSING
  Annual wholesale and retail licenses required. Apply to State Fire Marshal. Annual wholesale license fee $50, retail $5.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  State Fire Marshal
State of Alaska
Dept of Public Safety Division of Fire Prevention
5700 East Tudor Road
Anchorage, AK 99507-1225
907-269-5625
www.dps.state.ak.us/Fire/asp/


LAW NUMBER
 

AS 18.72.10 – AS 18.72.100, 13 AAC 51.010 – 13 AAC 51.060

 

 

Arizona

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted None
Specifically Prohibited Skyrockets, firecrackers, torpedoes, roman candles, daygo bombs, and sparklers.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Fire Marshal has permit authority over all fireworks and pyrotechnic displays and events on public school, state, and county properties. Apply to local, county authorities at least 30 days before display date.
Insurance May be required by local authorities.
Operator No license specifically required by state law but may be required by local authorities.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  State Fire Marshal
State of Arizona
1110 W. Washington, Suite 100
Phoenix, AZ 85007
602-364-1003
www.dbfs.state.az.us


LAW NUMBER
 Title 36, Chapter 13, Sec 36-1601 et seq.
 
 

Arkansas

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Roman candles, skyrockets, helicopter rockets, cylindrical and cone fountains, wheels, torches, colored fire, dipped sticks, mines and shells, firecrackers with soft casings, and novelties (size limitations specified.)
Selling Period June 20-July 10 and December 10-January 5 (Snakes and sparklers permitted all year.)
Age of Purchase 12 years


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to Director of State Police at least 2 days before display date. Prior approval by local authorities required.
Insurance Proof of liability
Operator No license specifically required in state law. Proof of training.


LICENSING
  Display must be performed in accordance with NFPA Standard 1123. Annual licenses required. Apply to Director of State Police before April 1. Valid May 1-April 30. Nonresidents must have license to do business in state. Retailer may purchase license from supplier, who must report to the director of state police semiannually (January 31 and July 31.) Minimum age 21 years. 

Manufacturer $ 1000
Importer $ 500
Distributor $ 250
Wholesaler $ 50
Retail (per outlet) $ 10


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  Commander, Fire Marshal’s Office
Arkansas State Police
1 State Police Plaza Drive
Little Rock, AR 72209
501-618-8624
www.asp.state.ar.us/pl/fm.html


LAW NUMBER
 Act 224 of 1961, Act 379 of 1977
Act 677 of 1991, ACA 20-22-701-through-715
 

 

California

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Consumer Fireworks not specifically prohibited (size limitations specified.)
Specifically Prohibited Firecrackers, skyrockets, rockets, roman candles, chasers, sparklers over 10”or ¼ diameter, surprise items, friction items, torpedoes, items resembling food, fireworks containing arsenic, phosphorus, thiocyanates magnesium (magnesium alloys permitted), mercury salts, picrates or picric acid, gallates or gallic acid, chlorates, (except those of alkali or earth metals), boron, titanium (except larger than 100 mesh), zirconium, gunpowder, and fireworks kits.
Selling Period Noon, June 28, through noon, July 6.
Sale Items for sale must be of a type approved by the State Fire Marshal. Salesperson’s minimum age is 18 years.
Age of Purchase 16 years old.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to State Fire Marshal prior to application to local authorities. After obtaining state license apply to local authorities at least 10 days before display date. “Special” state license authorizes displays at single site only at any time, $350 fee. “General” state license allows the holding and conducting of public displays of dangerous fireworks at various locations and at various times, $200 fee. “General” and “Special” licenses must report all contemplated displays to State Fire Marshal before display date, and file a post display report with the California State Fire Marshal.
Insurance Required. Minimum $1,000,000 combined single limits (personal/property) per occurrence annually, may have $15,000 deductible.
Operator State license required, apply to State Fire Marshal. Fee $75-$250 dependent on license classification. Written exam and evidence as to qualifications and experience is required.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  Fireworks must be classified and registered by the State Fire Marshal. State seal of registration must be applied to all classified fireworks. Labeling, record keeping, transportation, manufacturing and storage safety requirements specified in law. Employees may be registered with the State Fire Marshal.


LICENSING
  State licenses required annually, apply to State Fire Marshal. Valid July 1 through June 30 of the following year. Apply for renewal between January 1 and May 1. License number to be affixed to each order and invoice. Exception: retail license valid only during selling period. Apply to State Fire Marshal on or before June 15. 

Manufacturer $ 1500
Wholesaler $ 3000
Importer/Exporter $ 4500
Retail Permit $ 50
Dealer in agricultural items $ 500

Snap cap/party popper
Distributor $ 750


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  State Fire Marshal
State of California
P.O. Box 944246
Sacramento, CA 94244-2460
916-445-8373
http://osfm.fire.ca.gov/


LAW NUMBER
 State Health and Safety Code, Part 2, Chapter 1
Section 12500 et seq.
California Admin Code, Title 19, subchapter 6
 

 

Colorado

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Cylindrical and cone fountain, ground spinner, torch and colored fire, dipped stick and sparkler, snake and glow worm, trick noisemaker and certain other novelties.
Specifically Prohibited Any fireworks not specifically permitted.
Age of Purchase 16 years of age


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to local authorities at least 30 days before display date, or to Division of Fire Safety if no local authority. Valid for only one date or event, and location. Fee: 10% of cost of display ($250 max.)
Insurance No requirements in state law. May be required by local authorities.
Operator Display must be handled by an operator certified by the state. With certain exceptions, written exam required. Apply to Division of Fire Safety, $25 fee.


LICENSING
  Manufacturing, wholesale and retail licenses required annually; apply to Division of Fire Safety at least 30 days in advance of activity. Retail licenses good for calendar year in which issued. 

Exporter $ 750
Wholesaler $ 750
Display $ 750
Retailer (per location) $ 25


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  Colorado Department of Public Safety
Division of Fire Safety
700 Kipling Street, Suite 1200
Denver, CO 80215
303-239-4463
www.state.co.us/gov_dir/cdps/dfs.htm


LAW NUMBER
 Art. 28 or Title 12. Revised 1991
 

 

Connecticut

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Hand-held and ground based sparkling devices that are non-explosive and non-aerial, and do not contain more than 100 grams of pyrotechnic composition per item.
Specifically Prohibited All other consumer fireworks including multiple-tube sparkling devices that exceed 100 grams of total pyrotechnic composition. Novelty items are illegal.
Age of Purchase 16 years


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to local fire department prior to application to State Fire Marshal. Apply to State Fire Marshal at least 15 days before display date. Fee of $35.
Insurance Required. Minimum of $1 million liability insurance policy per accident for bodily injury and property damage.
Operator State license and certificate of competency required. Fee of $50 is paid to state treasurer and may be renewed every three years with a fee of $30. Operator must be at least 21 years of age. Assistants must be at least 18 years of age.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  Storage permit required; apply to local Fire Marshal. Storage requirements specified in state law.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  State of Connecticut
Department of Public Safety
Division of Fire and Building Safety
1111 Country Club Road
Middletown, CT 06457-9294
860-685-8470
www.state.ct.us/dps/DFEBS/OSFM.htm


LAW NUMBER
 State of CT Admin Regs. Sec. 29-357 et seq.
CT General Statutes Chap 541 Part II
 

 

Delaware

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 
Specifically Permitted No consumer fireworks are permitted in Delaware.
Specifically Prohibited All consumer fireworks are prohibited Delaware.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to State Fire Marshal at least 30 days before display date.
Insurance Required $1,000,000 minimum
Operator License required. Submit application to State Fire Marshal. Written examination required. Operator must be at least 21 years of age, age 18 for assistants. License valid 1 year. Renew annually.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  State Fire Marshal
State of Delaware
2307 MacArthur Road
New Castle, DE 19720-2426
302-323-5375
302-323-5366 fax
www.delawarestatefiremarshal.com


LAW NUMBER
 Delaware State Fire Prevention Regulations
Part IV, Chapter 2 Delaware Code
Title, 16, Chap. 69
 

 

Florida

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Devices approved and listed by State Fire Marshal which emit a shower of sparks upon burning, do not contain any explosive compounds, do not detonate or explode, are hand held or ground based, cannot propel themselves through the air, and that contain not more than 100 grams of the chemical compound that produces sparks upon burning. Any device that is not included in the list of approved items is prohibited, except that snakes, small smoke devices, trick noisemakers and certain other novelties may be sold at all other times.
Specifically Prohibited Firecrackers, torpedoes, skyrockets, roman candles, daygo bombs, and any fireworks containing explosive or flammable compounds.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to local authorities at least 15 days beforedisplay date.
Insurance Required, $500 minimum.
Operator No license specifically required in state law. However, local jurisdiction may require permit.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  Storage specifications in law.


LICENSING
  Required:
Manufacturer $ 1000
Distributor $ 1000
Wholesaler $ 1000
Seasonal retailer $ 200
Retailer $ 15 each location


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  Division of State Fire Marshal
Regulatory Licensing and Statistics Sec.
200 East Gaines Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0300
904-922-3172
www.fldfs.com/sfm/
* And local law enforcement agencies.


LAW NUMBER
 Chapter 791, Florida Statutes
Rule 4A-50, Florida Admin. Code
 

 

Georgia

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Sparklers up to 100 grams each; fountains (items that say 'Emits Showers of Sparks' up to 200 grams total for multiple tube items or 75 grams for each individual tube; snakes, glow worms, snappers, party poppers.
Specifically Prohibited Firecrackers, torpedoes, sky rockets, roman candles, bombs, and sparklers.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to local county at least 10 days before display date. $10 fee, plus $1 per copy of permit.
Insurance Required. $10,000 bond and insurance for bodily injury of at least $25,000 for each person and $50,000 for each accident, as well as property damage insurance of at least $25,000 for each accident and $50,000 aggregate. Insurance company must be licensed in Georgia.
Operator License required by state law.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  Annual license fee for conducting business in the state: $1,000. Expires Dec 31 each year.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  Safety Fire Commissioner
State of Georgia
612 West Tower, Floyd Bldg.
#2 MLK, Jr. Drive
Atlanta, GA 30334
404-656-5875
www.inscomm.state.ga.us/


LAW NUMBER
  25-10 Georgia Code, Chapter 10
NFPA 1123 adopted with modifications
NFPA 1124 adopted with modifications
NFPA 1126 adopted with modifications
 

 

Hawaii

 

NOTE: Fireworks regulations may vary for each county. For complete regulations contact your local county:

 

 

Fire Chief
Honolulu Fire Department
3375 Koapaka Street, Suite H452
Honolulu, HI 96819-1869
(808) 831-7771
(808) 831-7777 (fax)

Fire Chief
Kauai County Fire Department
4444 Rice Street, Suite 295
Lihue, Kauaik, HI 96766
(808) 241-6501
(808) 241-6508 (fax)

Fire Chief
Hawaii County Fire Department
25 Aupuni Street, Suite 103
Hilo, HI 96720
(808) 961-8297
(808) 961-8296

Fire Chief
Department of Fire Control
County of Maui
200 Dairy Road
Kahului, HI 96732
(808) 270-7561
(808) 270-7919 (fax)

Hawaii Laws

Idaho

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Non-aerial fireworks devices, such as ground spinners, fountains, sparklers, smoke devices, or snakes.
Specifically Prohibited Any fireworks not specifically permitted, such as firecrackers, jumping jacks, or similar products.
Selling Period Midnight, June 23 through midnight, July 5 Midnight December 26 through midnight January 1 May be regulated by local jurisdictions as to dates allowed.
License Required to import fireworks into the state. Fee may be required.
Retail Sales Permit Apply to local authorities, $25 fee may be required, valid for one year.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to local authorities. $125 maximum fee for any one year or display
Liability Bond or insurance up to $1,000,000 may be required.
Operator Display must be supervised by a qualified person as determined by AHJ.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  Fireworks must be classified and labeled before transport.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  Department of Insurance
State Fire Marshal Division
700 West State Street
Boise, Id 83720
208-334-4370
www.doi.state.id.us/sfm/ firemars.aspx


LAW NUMBER
 Chapter 26, Sec. 39-2601, through 39-2614 as
amended in 1997
 

 

Illinois

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Sparklers, snake/glow worm pellets, smoke devices, trick noisemakers, and plastic or paper caps.
Specifically Prohibited Firecrackers, torpedoes, skyrockets, roman candles, and bombs.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Required. Apply to local authorities at least 15 days before display date.
Insurance Required. No amount specified in state law.
Operator No license specifically required in state law but display must be handled by competent individual designated by local authorities.
Sale Fireworks must be purchased from licensed wholesaler.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  Safe plant location and storage areas specified in state law.


LICENSING
  Manufacturing permit required, $50 fee, apply to State Fire Marshal. Governing body will require a bond of not less than $1,000 from the licensee.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  State Fire Marshal
State of Illinois
Division of Fire Prevention
1035 Stevenson Drive
Springfield, IL 62730-4219
217-785-4714
www.state.il.us/osfm/


LAW NUMBER
 425 ILCS 30, 425 ILCS 35
 

 

Indiana

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted

Consumer fireworks that comply with the construction, chemical composition, and labeling regulations of the U.S. Consumer Products Commission.  Fireworks can be purchased only by persons 18 years of age or older, and may be used only on the user’s property or on the property of someone who has consented the use of fireworks on their property.  Consumer fireworks may be used only between 9am and 11pm on days other than holidays.  Holidays include Memorial Day, July 4, Labor Day and New Year’s Eve.

Local communities may adopt ordinaces which restrict the use of fireworks to certain days around the 4th of July and New Years only. A check with the local community would determine whether an ordinace has been adopted.



DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display PermitApply to State Fire Marshal at least 5 days before display date.
Insurance Required: $10,000 minimum to $100,000 maximum personal injury insurance, $10,000 minimum to $100,000 maximum property damage insurance.
Operator Operator must be approved by the chief of the fire department for the area in which the display is to be filed. Application for any permit must name a complete operator and include a brief resume of the operator’s experience.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  Prior to shipment of fireworks, novelties and trick noisemakers into the state, shipper must submit to the State Fire Marshal complete descriptions of items being transported, written certification that the devices are in compliance with Indiana law, and a $1,000 registration fee to receive mandatory certificate of compliance. Shipping crates must be labeled with exact number of pieces enclosed.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  State Fire Marshal
State of Indiana
Indiana Government Center South
302 W. Washington Street, Rm E241
Indianapolis, IN 46204
(317) 232-2226
www.in.gov/dhs


LAW NUMBER
 IC 22-11-14, Amendments 2007
 

 

Iowa

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Gold sparklers containing no magnesium, chlorate or perchlorate, flitter sparkler not more that ?” in diameter, and snakes containing no mercury.
Specifically Prohibited Firecrackers, torpedoes, skyrockets, roman candles, daygo bombs.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to local authorities.
Insurance None specifically required in state law but may be local requirements.
Operator No license specifically required in state law but must be handled by a competent authority.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  Iowa State Fire Marshal
Division of State Fire Marshal
215 E. 7th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0001
515-281-5821
www.state.ia.us/epd/fire.htm


LAW NUMBER
 Health, Safety and Welfare Code of Iowa,
Section 727.2
 

 

Kansas

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted All pyrotechnic devices classified as consumer fireworks by DOT, except certain rockets.
Specifically Prohibited Any rockets mounted on a wire or stick, any device containing such rockets.
Selling Period June 27-July 5 (including delivery of mail-order fireworks)


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to local authorities for written permission. NFPA1123 requirements adopted by reference.
Insurance Required per NFPA 1123, Sec. 6-32.
Operator License required.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  NFPA 1124 adopted by reference.


REGISTRATION
  Any manufacturer or wholesaler who stores, handles, possesses, or transports rockets mounted on a stick or wire for any purpose outside the state must register annually with the State Fire Marshal. Applications received before May 31, valid for 1 year.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  State Fire Marshal
State of Kansas
700 SW Jackson Street, Suite 600
Topeka, KS 66603-3714
785-296-3401
www.accesskansas.org/firemarshal/


LAW NUMBER
 Kansas Statues 31-133, 134, 155, 156
Kansas Regulations 22-6-1 et seq.
 

 

Kentucky

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted

Sky & Bottle Rockets, aerial spinners, Roman Candles, firecrackers, chasers, and mines, shell, aerial kits, reloadable tubes  not exceeding 200 grams. 

Specifically Prohibited

Mines, shells, aerial kits, reloadable tubes exceeding 200 grams. Sale Fireworks must be approved by CPSC.

Selling Period Fireworks must be approved by CPSC
Age of Purchase 16 years


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Notify State Fire Marshal at least 15 days prior to display date. Prior to submission, must secure approval of local authority having jurisdiction where display will be conducted.
Insurance Minimum required by law is $10,000, local authorities may require a larger amount.
Operator

Display must be handled by a competent operator to be approved by the local authority by whom a permit is granted.



MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  NFPA 1124 adopted by reference


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  State Fire Marshal
Commonwealth of Kentucky
Division of Fire Prevention
101 Sea Hero Road, Suite 100
Frankfort, KY 40601-5405
502-573-0364
http://hbc.ppr.ky.gov/Fireworks.htm


LAW NUMBER
 KRS 227.700 – 227.900
11 RS HB 333 GA
 

 

Louisiana

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Consumer fireworks as defined by DOT and the CPSC. Cylindrical fountains, cone fountains, illuminating torches, pyrotechnic wheel devices, ground spinners, flitter sparklers, toy smoke devices, sky rockets and bottle rockets, missile-type rockets, helicopter aerial spinners, roman candles, mines or shells, firecrackers, and multiple tube fireworks.
Specifically Prohibited Cherry bombs, tubular salutes, 2” American made salutes, firecrackers exceeding 1½”in length or ¼” in diameter, repeating bombs, aerial bombs, torpedoes exceeding ?” in diameter, roman candles larger than 10 ball, and sky rockets larger than 6 ounces.
Selling Period Noon June 25 through midnight July 5, and noon December 15 through midnight January 1.
Age of Purchase 15 years


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to State Fire Marshal or certified local authorities at least 5 days before event, $10 fee.
Insurance None specifically required in state law.


STORAGE/DISPLAY
  Storage and handling requirements specified in state law.


LICENSING
  Apply to State Fire Marshal for annual license before April 1. Fees:

Manufacturer $10,000
Assembler 1,000
Distributor 2,000
Importer 500
Jobber 250
Retailer 100

Wholesalers and retailers must purchase from Louisiana-licensed suppliers, even if suppliers live out-of-state.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  Office of State Fire Marshal
Mechanical Safety Section
7919 Independence Blvd.
Baton Rouge, LA 70806-4125
www.dps.state.la.us/sfm/index.htm


LAW NUMBER
 LA Revised Statues 51:650
 

 

Maine

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted  
Specifically Prohibited

Missile-type rockets as defined by the State Fire Marshal, Helicopters and aerial spinners, Sky rockets and bottle rockets 



DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to commissioner of public safety at least 15 days before display date. $180 test fee, and $25 renewal fee per calendar year for license to discharge fireworks; $111 fee for inspection of fireworks display sites; $30 fee for permit for supervised display of fireworks for period of time specified in permit.
Insurance $300,000 liability
Operator Minimum age: 21 years. Operator must take test for certification from State Fire Marshal’s Office.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  NFPA 1123 adopted by reference, special rules apply.
NFPA 1124 adopted in Statute.
NFPA 160 adopted by reference.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  State Fire Marshal
State of Maine
52 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0052
207-624-8964
www.state.me.us/dps/fmo/homepage.htm


LAW NUMBER
 

State Fire Marshals Rules 219 Chapter 36
8 MRSA §221-A, Sub- §1-A

 

 

Maryland

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Sparklers containing no chlorates or perchlorates, ground based sparkling devices that are non-aerial non-explosive, and are labeled in accordance with the requirements of CPSC. Paper wrapped snappers containing less than 3/100 grains of explosive composition, and snakes that contain no mercury and are not regulated by DOT. Note: retailers must submit products for testing and approval to State Fire Marshal’s Office prior to sale.
Specifically Prohibited All others


CONSUMER FIREWORKS RETAIL SALES REQUIREMENTS
  Only those wholesale/distributor companies that register their products with the State Fire Marshal to be wholesaled/distributed in the state will be allowed to wholesale/distribute their products to retail outlets in Maryland. All retail outlets must conform to the fire prevention codes for the state regarding ground based sparkling devices (Title 29, Department of State Police, Subtitle 06, Fire Prevention Commission.) Consumer fireworks are illegal to retail or use in Town of Ocean City (Worcester County), Baltimore City, and the following counties: Harford, Howard, Montgomery, and Prince George’s. Companies/individuals should contact local government for all other counties prior to wholesaling/distributing, retailing, or using consumer fireworks. The local government may require additional permits or fees.
Age to Purchase 16 Years


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to State Fire Marshal at least 10 days before display date. $50 fee per display. A late fee of $50 per display for applications submitted at least 10 days from the date of the display(s). Display permits are needed for outdoor displays, as well as proximate audience displays.
Insurance Required. Minimum $25,000 for injury of one person, $50,000 for more than one person; $10,000 property damage. Workman’s comp or approved accident insurance required. The policy or certificate shall provide that the coverage may not be canceled without at least 30 days notice to the State Fire Marshal. The State of Maryland shall be named as an insured in the contract of insurance.
Operator State license required. $150 fee for a 3 year permit. Apply to State Fire Marshal, minimum age 21 years.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  All displays must be in accordance with NFPA 1123, which is incorporated by reference.


LICENSING
  Permit required to store display fireworks for licensed displays. Storage areas must be approved by State Fire Marshal. Must be in accordance with NFPA Standard 1124, which is incorporated by reference. Manufacturing license required: $750 annual fee.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  Maryland Department of State Police
Office of the State Fire Marshal
Bomb Squad
P.O. Box 28903
BWI Airport, MD 21240
410-859-7152
http://www.firemarshal.state.md.us/


LAW NUMBER
 Art 38A, Sec. 15-25, Annotated Md.
Fire Prevention Code 12.03.01.08 NFPA 1123,
NFPA 1126
 

 

Massachusetts

 

 



CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted None
Specifically Prohibited Firecrackers, torpedoes, skyrockets, flares, candles, bombs, sparklers, wheels, colored fire, fountains, mines, and serpents.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to local fire chief at least 15 days before display date.
Insurance Required; no amount specified in state law.
Operator State license required, apply to State Fire Marshal, valid two years, $40 fee.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  Labeling, storage, and transportation regulations specified in law.


LICENSING
  Manufacturing license required. Apply first to local authorities, then to state authorities.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  State Fire Marshal
Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Department of Fire Services
P.O. Box 1625, State Road
Stow, MA 01775
978-567-3300
www.state.ma.us/dfs/dfshome.htm


LAW NUMBER
 Chapter 148, Sec 9, General Laws
Board of Fire Prevention Regulations,
Massachusetts Fire Safety Code, 527 CMR 2.00.
 

 

Michigan

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS

 
Specifically Permitted

Consumer Fireworks as defined in APA Standard 87-1 sections 3.1.2, 3.1.3, or 3.5

   


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to local authorities.
Insurance Required; amount determined by local authorities.
Operator No license specifically required in state law, local authorities may rule on competency and qualifications of operator.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  NFPA 1124 adopted by reference


LICENSING
  Wholesale license required. Apply to local authorities. Minimum age 18 years.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  Michigan State Police
Fire Marshal Division
7150 Harris Drive
Lansing, MI 48913
517-322-1924
www.mspfmd.org/general_ndx.htm


LAW NUMBER
 

Michigan Fireworks Safety Act §28.451-§28.471

 

 

Minnesota

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Wire or wood sparklers of not more than 100 grams of pyrotechnic composition per item. Ground-based sparkling devices which are non-explosive and non aerial, and contain 75 grams or less of chemical mixture per tube or a total of 200 grams or less for multiple tube items and include: fountains, cones, illuminating torches, wheels, ground spinners, flitter sparklers, flash / strobes, and novelty devices including snakes, glow worms, trick noisemakers, party poppers, and snappers.
Specifically Prohibited Firecrackers, torpedoes, missiles, skyrockets, bottle rockets, roman candles, daygo bombs, mines and shells, chasers, and parachutes.
Selling Period No restrictions on time of year for sale, possession, or use.
Age of Purchase 18 years


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to municipal clerk in the municipality where the display will take place at least 15 days before date of display or county auditor if display will take place outside a city.
Insurance Required, in amount deemed adequate by fire chief.
Operator Must be state certified by written exam from State Fire Marshal and proof of experience.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  State and local permits required to manufacture.


SALE, POSESSION AND USE OF FIREWORKS
  Prohibited except as otherwise provided in Sec. 624.20 to 624.25.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  State of Minnesota
Department of Public Safety
Division of State Fire Marshal
444 Cedar Street
St. Paul, MN 55101
651-215-0500
www.fire.state.mn.us


LAW NUMBER
 MN Statutes 624.20 et seq.
2003 MN State Fire Code, Chapter 33
 

 

Mississippi

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Consumer fireworks as defined by the DOT.
Specifically Prohibited Cherry bombs, tubular salutes, repeating bombs, aerial bombs, and torpedoes.
Selling Period June 15-July 5 and December 5-January 2
Age of Purchase 12 years


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to local authorities at least 10 days before display date. Provisions of NFPA Standard 1123 must be met.
Insurance Bond or certificate of insurance required in an amount deemed adequate by the fire official for payment of personal or property damages.
Operator No license specifically required in state law.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  Safe storage areas and safe disposal specified in the law, but must be a competent operator, approved by the fire official.


LICENSING
  State and local licenses are required to manufacture fireworks; apply to state tax commission and local authorities.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  Mississippi Dept. of Insurance
Office of the Fire Marshal
1415 Woolfolk Bldg.
P.O. Box 22542
Jackson, MS 39225-2542
www.doi.state.ms.us/marsha.html


LAW NUMBER
 MS Code Chpt. 13, Art. I
Std. Fire Prev. Code, 1988 Chpt. 20
 

 

Missouri

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Consumer Fireworks in compliance with the regulations of the CPSC.
Specifically Prohibited Ground salutes that exceed DOT limits.
Selling Period June 20-July 10 and December 20-January 2
Age of Purchase 14 years unless accompanied by parent or guardian.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to State Fire Marshal or to local authorities.
Insurance Must furnish proof of financial responsibility to satisfy claims for personal injury or property damage.
License License specifically required in state law.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  Safe storage areas specified in law.


LICENSING
  Permit required. Apply to State Fire Marshal. Annual fees as follows:

Manufacturer $750
Distributor $750
Wholesaler $250
Jobber $500 per location
Display or retail $ 25 per location


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
 

State Fire Marshal
State of Missouri
P.O. Box 844
Jefferson City, MO 65102
314-751-2930 or 800-877-5688
www.mdfs.state.mo.us/dfsfrwrk.htm

View Laws

 

 

Montana

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Items meeting the CPSC requirements, except for items specifically prohibited (see below). Mail orders prohibited.
Specifically Prohibited Skyrockets, roman candles, bottle rockets.
Selling Period June 24-July 5 and December 29-December 31.
Sale Salesperson’s minimum age: 18 years. Wholesalers permit required.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to State Fire Marshal or to local authorities at least 15 days before display date.
Insurance Required in an amount considered adequate by the State Fire Marshal or local authorities, not less than $500, bond of $100,000 per display.
Operator No license specifically required, operator must be approved as “competent” by State Fire Marshal or local authorities.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  Fire Prevention & Investigation Bureau
303 N. Roberts- 3rd Floor
P.O. Box 201415
Helena, MT 59620-1415
406-444-2050
www.doj.state.mt.us


LAW NUMBER
 Title 50-Chapter 37, Montana Code Amended
 

 

Nebraska

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Novelty items, snakes, and sparklers do not require a permit to be sold in Nebraska. Gold and silver sparklers (colored sparklers prohibited) spray fountains, torches, color fire cones, star and comet type aerial shells without explosive charge, lady fingers not to exceed ?” in length and ?” in diameter, total pyrotechnic composition not to exceed 50 mg. each, color wheels and any other item approved by Fire Marshal. Samples for all fireworks must be submitted to Fire Marshal prior to sale for separate test shoot examination. Permissible fireworks list issued annually in January.
Selling Period June 25-July 4, except in Omaha, where fireworks are prohibited. Lincoln has a 2 day selling period.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to State Fire Marshal at least 10 business days before display date. $10 permit fee. Aerial shells may not exceed 6” O.D. unless electrically fired. Regulations Title 157 Chapter 3 contain other limitations.
Insurance Not specifically required in state law.
Operator Requires pyrotechnics certification by State Fire Marshal or a valid license from the APA or PGI.


LICENSING
  Apply to State Fire Marshal between Jan 1 and June 10 of each year. License good for calendar year in which issued. Retailers and wholesalers must purchase from distributors licensed in Nebraska. Licenses available until June 30, a $50 late fee after June 10. License costs $10 Display, $500 Distributor, $200 Jobber, $25 Retail


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  State Fire Marshal
State of Nebraska
246 So. 14th Street
Lincoln, NE 68508
402-471-2027
www.sfm.state.ne.us


LAW NUMBER
 Nebraska State Statutes et seq. Chapters 1-8
Title 157, Nebraska State Fire Marshal
Nebraska Rev. Statutes § 28-1239.01 to 28-1252
 

 

Nevada

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Fireworks designated as consumer fireworks.
Specifically Prohibited Dangerous fireworks, including large firecrackers, aerial displays and items that explode on impact or by friction.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to local authorities. $100,000 per person, $1,000,000 per occurrence. Minimum property damage coverage: $1,000,000.
Insurance Applicant for operators certificate must complete written application, must be 21 years of age, and must pass a written examination administered by the State Fire Marshal’s Office. The fee for initial certificate and renewal is $55 for each category of certificate.
Operator Categories:

Indoor stage $ 110.00
Outdoor aerial $ 110.00
Special affects $ 110.00
Show specific $ 110.00
Pyro assistant trainee $ 27.50
Magician $ 27.50
Flame effect operator $ 27.50
Flame effect assistant $ 27.50

All above certificates are valid from July 1 through the next June 30.


LICENSING
  Renewal of licenses is between April 1 and June 1 of each year.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
107 Jacobsen Way
Carson City, NV 89704
775-687-4444
http://www.fire.state.nv.us/


LAW NUMBER
 2000 Nevada State Fire Marshal regulations NAC 47
 

 

New Hampshire

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Cone and cylindrical fountain, ground spinner, party popper, snake/glow worm snapper, wheel. (Small sparklers not regulated as Consumer Fireworks and therefore allowed.) Items listed on permissible fireworks list.
Specifically Prohibited Items not specifically permitted, including large sparklers.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Required. Apply to local authorities at least 15 days before display date.
Insurance $100,000 liability maybe required.
Operator State Police Certificate of Competency required. Written examination. Minimum age 21 years, fee $40.


LICENSING
  State license for sale of fireworks required, valid for 1 year, $1,500 annual fee. Minimum age 21 years. Must have ATF permit plus local permit.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  Director of State Police
New Hampshire Department of Safety
Division of State Police
10 Hazen Drive, Room 106
Concord, NH 03305
603-271-2575
www.state.nh.us/safety/nhsp


LAW NUMBER
 N.H. Code of Admin Rules SAF-C 5000 & 2600
RSA 160-B & 160-C
 

 

New Jersey

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted None
Specifically Prohibited Torpedoes, firecrackers, fireworks containing yellow or white phosphorus or mercury, sparklers, fireworks containing an ammonium salt, and a chlorate.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to local authorities. Permit to use explosives required if an electric match is used.
Insurance Required, $2500 minimum.
Operator No license specifically required by state law, but must be a competent operator, approved by local authorities.


LICENSING
  Safe plant locations, manufacturing practices, storage areas specified in state law. Indemnity bond of $10,000 – 50,000 required to manufacture unless waived by State Department of Banking and Insurance. Manufacturing license required; apply to State Commissioner of Labor.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  State of New Jersey
Public Safety & Occupational Safety & Health
225 E State Street, 8th Floor, West Wing
Trenton, NJ 08625-0386
609-292-2096
www.statenj.us/labor


LAW NUMBER
 P.L. 1930, c 42 amended through 1/17/84
P.L. 1937, c 51 amended through 1/17/84
 

 

New Mexico

 

NOTE: Fireworks restrictions may be imposed during extreme drought conditions. 60-2C-8.1

 

 


CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted All items that comply with the requirements of the CPSC, except stick-type rockets having a tube less than ¼” inside diameter. Municipalities may prohibit use of aerial and ground audible devices.
Age of Purchase 16 years


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Required. Obtain from governing body of the county of municipality where display is to be held.
Insurance Not specifically required in state law.
Operator No license specifically required in state law.


LICENSING
  License required, fee as follows:

Manufacturer license $1500
Distributor license $2000
Wholesaler license $1000
Display Distributor $1000
Specialty retailer license $750
Retailer permit (required $750 For each location)

License good for 1 year. Apply to State Fire Marshal’s office.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  State Fire Marshal
State of New Mexico
P.O. Box 1269
Sante Fe, NM 87504-1269
505-827-3761
www.nmprc.state.nm.us/firemarshals/sfmo.htm


LAW NUMBER
 Fireworks Licensing and Safety Act, Section 60-2c-1
through 11. Effective Feb 1, 1990
 

 

New York

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted None
Specifically Prohibited Firecrackers, torpedoes, skyrockets, roman candles, bombs, and sparklers.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to local authorities at least 5 days before display date.
Insurance Required, $5000 minimum.
Operator License specifically required in state law.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  Safe storage areas specifically in state law.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  Superintendent
New York State Police
State Campus
Albany, NY 12226-0001
518-457-7662
www.state.ny.us/


LAW NUMBER
 Penal Law Article 270, Sec. 270.00 Art. 405,
Sec. 405.00,405.05
Labor Law Art 16, Sec 450 et seq.
General Business Law, Sec 322-b
Code 39
 

 

North Carolina

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Sparklers, fountains, smoke devices, snake and glow worms, trick noisemakers, and toy pistol caps.
Specifically Prohibited Explosive or aerial fireworks, roman candles, and rockets or similar devices.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to local fire official. Must comply with NFPA 1123, NFPA 1126 and Chapter 33 of International Fire Code, 2000 Edition.
Insurance None specifically required in state law.
Operator No license specifically required in state law, operator must be technically competent. May be local requirements. Bond or certificate of insurance required.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  Manufacturing of fireworks not permitted.


LICENSING
  State License required annually, apply to state tax commissioner.
Wholesaler distribution $1400
Wholesaler 400
Retail permit required at local level, apply to municipal clerk, $50 fee. Wholesalers may sell only to licensed retailers or jobbers. Retailer may buy only from licensed wholesaler or jobbers.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  North Carolina Office of State Fire Marshal
111 Seaboard Avenue
Raleigh, NC 27604
(919) 733-2142
www.ncdoi.com/OSFM/


LAW NUMBER
 GS Chpt. 14, Art. 54
GS Chpt. 14, Sec. 414
 

 

 

North Dakota

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Star lights, helicopter flyers, cylindrical fountains, cone fountains, wheels, torches, colored fire, sparklers, dipped sticks, comets, shells, soft shell firecrackers not to exceed 1½” in length and ¼” in diameter, total pyrotechnic composition not to exceed 50 mg each.
Selling Period June 27-July 5
Age of Purchase 12 Years


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to city auditor at least 15 days before display date, $2 fee.
Insurance None specifically required in state law.
Operator No license specifically required in state law. Rules of public display as defined in NFPA 1123 shall be used. Distributor license: apply to Licensing Division, Attorney General, $250 fee. Retail license: apply to county sheriff, $5 fee. Wholesale license also required.


LICENSING
  License good for calendar year in which issued. Only licensed wholesaler or retailer may import fireworks into state. Retailers must purchase only from licensed wholesaler.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  State Fire Marshal
State of North Dakota
P.O. Box 1054
Bismark, ND 58502-1054
701-328-5555
www.ag.state.nd.us/


LAW NUMBER
 ND Century Code 23-15-01 et seq.
 

 

 

Ohio

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically permitted Sparklers, trick noisemakers & novelties are exempt under Ohio law. Other consumer fireworks may be sold to Ohio residents upon execution of a form agreeing to take the items out to the state within 48 hours, or to out-of state residents upon execution of a form agreeing to take the items out the state within 72 hours.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permits Apply to local authorities.
Insurance $1,000,000 minimum.
Operator State license required, $50 annual fee, apply to State Fire Marshal. Minimum age 21 years. Must take written test.


LICENSING
  Manufacturer, wholesaler, or out of state shipper license required. Apply annually to State Fire Marshal.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  Office of Explosives and Pyrotechnics Administrator
Fire Marshal
8895 East Main Street
Reynoldsburg, OH 43068
614-752-7105
www.com.state.oh.us/ODOC/sfm/


LAW NUMBER
 Amended HB 436 Eff: 6/15/88
Amended HB 215 Eff: 6/30/97
HB 405 Eff: 10/19/00
HB 161 Eff: 7/2001
Sub HB 715 Sec. 12 Eff. 4/22/94
Art. 31 Ohio Fire Code Eff. 9/1/95, 1/3/00
 

 

 

Oklahoma

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted All fireworks meeting the requirements of the CPSC, unless specifically prohibited.
Specifically Prohibited Skyrockets, including bottle rockets or stick rockets, M-80s, mail order sales of fireworks, and door to door sales.
Selling Period June 15-July 6 and December 15-January 2
Age of Purchase At least 12 years of age, unless with adult.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to local authorities at least 10 days before display date, or State Fire Marshal if no local permit procedure. Permit must be signed by city clerk or State Fire Marshal.
Insurance Required. Minimum $5,000 financial liability, minimum $10,000 personal liability for a single accident, $5,000 minimum property damage.
Operator No license specifically required in state law, but display must be under supervision of a competent operator of legal age (21).


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  NFPA-160 adopted by reference.
NFPA-1124 adopted by reference.
NFPA-1123 adopted by reference.
NFPA-1126 adopted by reference.


LICENSING
  Apply to Oklahoma Tax Commission on or before March 1 annually.

Distributor $1,000
Manufacturer $1,000
Wholesaler $500
Retailer $10
(may be purchased from a licensed wholesaler, manufacturer or distributor)


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  State Fire Marshal
2401 NW 23rd Street, Suite 4
Oklahoma City, OK 73107
405-522-5005
www.state.ok.us/~firemar/


LAW NUMBER
 1991 Oklahoma Stat, Title 68, Sec. 1621 et seq.
 

 

 

Oregon

 

 

AGRICULTURAL FIREWORKS PERMIT
  Applications must be submitted to the State Fire Marshal, there is no fee, and run on a 2-year cycle.
Oregon Administrative Rules 837-012-0305 through 837-012-0370


GENERAL PUBLIC DISPLAY FIREWORKS (1.3G) PERMIT (May include 1.4G or Special Effects)
  General display permit required. Application must be submitted to the State Fire Marshal, along with $50 fee, and must be postmarked at least 15 days before the display date. A separate permit is required for each display.
Insurance Amount as required by local fire authority but not less than $500.
Operator Certification required. Must be 21 years of age or older and be certified by State Fire Marshal.
Oregon Administrative Rules
837-012-0700 through 837-012-0970


LIMITED PUBLIC DISPLAY FIREWORKS (1.4G)
  Application must be submitted to the State Fire Marshal, along with $50 fee, and must be postmarked at least 15 days before the display date. A separate permit is required for each display.
Insurance Amount as required by local fire authority but not less than $500.
Operator Certification required. Must be 18 years of age or older and be certified by State Fire Marshal.
Oregon Administrative Rules 837-012-0700 through 837-012-0970


RETAIL FIREWORKS (1.4G) PERMIT
  Application must be submitted to the State Fire Marshal, along with $50 fee, and must be postmarked no later that April 15 of the year for which the permit is requested.
Fireworks Allowed Those which produce only smoke, sparks or fire and which do not explode, eject balls of fire, fly into the air, or travel more than 6’ horizontally and/or 12” vertically from the point of ignition. (See Oregon Revised Statute 480.127)
Selling Period June 23-July 6
Age of Purchase 16 years of age or older
Oregon Administrative Rules 837-012-0700 through 837-012-0970


WHOLESALE FIREWORKS PERMIT
Wholesale Permit Required Application must be submitted to the State Fire Marshal, along with $2,500 fee, and must be postmarked no later than November 1 of the year prior to the year the permit is requested.
Oregon Administrative Rules 837-012-0700 through 837-012-0970


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  Must meet all applicable federal, state, and local laws, rules and regulations pertaining to fireworks and hold an Oregon Wholesale Fireworks Permit.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  Oregon State Police
State Fire Marshal
License and Permit Services Unit
4760 Portland Rd NE
Salem, OR 97305-1540
503-373-1540 (Ext. 274)
www.sfm.state.or.us


LAW NUMBER
 ORS 480.110 through 480.165
 

 

 

Pennsylvania

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Sparklers, toy pistols, or other devices in which paper caps are used which contain .25 grains or less of explosive compound, and are constructed so the hand cannot come into contact with the cap when in place for the explosion. Also permitted are toy cannons which operate on the principle of mixing calcium carbide, weighting less that 1/10th ounce and water in the reservoir of the cannon, and in which ignition results upon the creation of a spark.
Specifically Prohibited Any combustible or explosive composition prepared for the purpose of producing a visible or an audible effect by combustion, explosion, deflagration or detonation. This includes, but is not limited to, firecrackers, skyrockets, roman candles, aerial fireworks, or other fireworks of like construction, and any fireworks containing any explosive or flammable compound.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to local authorities, in writing, at least 15 days in advance.

Business entity performing, providing or supervising fireworks displays or exhibitions for profit must register annually with the Attorney General.
Insurance Required, in amount deemed adequate by local AHJ.
Operator No license specifically required in state law.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  Commander
Fire Marshal Section
Pennsylvania State Police
1800 Elmerton Avenue
Harrisburg, PA 17110
717-783-5529


LAW NUMBER
 P.L. 134, No 65 (Revised May 1984)

 

 

Rhode Island

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted

Hand-held ground based sparkling devices including fountains, illuminating torches, wheels, ground spinners, flitter sparklers, sparklers & novelties devices as defined in APA Standard 87-1

Specifically Prohibited

Aerial Consumer, Display Fireworks, and Pyrotechnics unless permits are obtained.



DISPLAY FIREWORKSDisplay Permit
  Apply to local authorities at least 15 days before display date.
Insurance Required - $50,000
Operator Must be at least 18 and hold a valid Certificate of Competency issued by State Fire Marshal. State license required, $50 fee. Apply to State Fire Marshal. Test required $10 fee, license valid for 1 year, renewable on March 1 $50 fee. At least 2 operators required during display. Also Fire Dept personnel must be present, expenses to be paid by permittee.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  Manufacturers and dealers must obtain license from State Fire Marshal.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
 

State Fire Marshal
State of Rhode Island Division of Fire Safety
24 Conway Avenue
N. Kingstown, RI02852



LAW NUMBER
 General Laws, Sec 11-3-1 et seq. and Rhode Island
Fire Safety Code Fireworks Law
Div of Fire Safety Rules & Regs FSR-3 6/76 as amended 06/2010
 

 

 

South Carolina

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Items meeting requirements of the CPSC except those noted below.
Specifically Prohibited Small rockets less than ½” in diameter and 3” long.
Sale Salesperson’s minimum age 18 years. Covered fused required.
Age of Purchase 14 years, unless accompanied by parent.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to State Fire Marshal at least 15 working days before show. Map and copy of insurance policy required. Material must be purchased from SC licensed firm..
Insurance Required, $500,000 minimum.
Operator Certification by State Fire Marshal required. Must pass written test and submit notarized evidence of participation in a minimum of 6 shows, plus a statement from a SC licensed display company attesting to applicants’ experience. Minimum age 21 years. Re-certification class and re-examination required every 2 years..


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  Safe storage areas and construction requirements specified in law and regulations.


LICENSING
  State License required annually, apply to state tax commissioner.
Wholesaler distribution $1400
Wholesaler 400
Retail permit required at local level, apply to municipal clerk, $50 fee. Wholesalers may sell only to licensed retailers or jobbers. Retailer may buy only from licensed wholesaler or jobbers.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
Use and Transportation State Fire Marshal
141 Monticello Trail
Columbia, SC 29203
803-896-9802
 
Sales, Storage and Licensing State Board of Pyrotechnic Safety
P.O. Box 11419
Columbia, SC 29211-1419
803-896-4420


LAW NUMBER
 SC 1976 Code, Title 23, Chap 9, Title 39, Chap 43
Div of General Services Chap 19-405. 1/405.9
 

 

South Dakota

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted All fireworks that comply with CPSC regulations.
Specifically Prohibited All consumer fireworks made wholly or in part of dynamite, nitroglycerin, or giant powder.
Selling Period June 27-July 5
Sale Retailers must purchase from licensed wholesaler. Sale or use prohibited in Black Hills district or in any national or state forest or park. Sale from any vehicle prohibited. Salesperson’s minimum age 18 years. Special retail license for sales to out of state residents available.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to local authorities. Display must comply with NFPA 1123. Must purchase fireworks from a licensed wholesaler.
Insurance None specifically required in state law.
Operator No license specifically required in state law.


LICENSING
  Apply to State Fire Marshal by June 15. Retail and wholesale licenses required annually. Good for calendar year.

Wholesale $500
Retail $25


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  State Fire Marshal
State of South Dakota
118 W. Capital Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501-2036
605-773-3562
www.state.sd.us/dps/fire/FIRE_HOM.HTM


LAW NUMBER
 State Code, Chapter 34-37
 

 

Tennessee

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Items meeting CPSC requirements.
Specifically Prohibited Illegal ground salutes and mail order purchase of fireworks by consumers.
Selling Period June 20-July 5 and December 10-January 2 (snakes and sparklers permitted all year). Sales by year round retailers permitted.
Age of Purchase 16 years: Sixteen and seventeen year olds must additionally provide a state issued photo ID at the time of purchase.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to State Fire Marshal at least 10 days before display date. Prior approval of local authorities required, $10 fee.
Insurance Evidence of financial responsibility required.
Operator Operators must be at least twenty one years of age, pass an exam to prove knowledge of the governing National Fire Protection Association codes, and submit proof of experience of having worked under competent supervision for at least three prior displays. Exhibitors will be required to provide proof of having at least $1,000,000 of general liability insurance.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  Safe storage areas specified in state law. Annual license required; apply to State Fire Marshal. Licenses valid until December 31. Establishments may buy only from licensed suppliers. License number to be affixed to each order and invoice.
Minimum age 18 years.

Manufacturer $ 750
Distributor $ 750
Retailer $ 750
Wholesaler $ 500
Seasonal retailer $ 100
Display $ 50


LICENSING
  Annual licenses required, by calendar year expiring December 31. Apply to State Fire Marshal. Minimum age 18 years.

Manufacturer $1000
Distributor $1000
Exhibitor $1,000
Wholesaler $1,000
Retailer $1,000
Seasonal retailer $100 per location
Display $50 per display
Operator $100 per certification (maximum of $200)


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  Dept of Commerce & Insurance
Division of Fire Prevention
500 James Robertson Pkwy, 3rd Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
615-741-2981
www.state.tn.us/commerce/sfm/index.html


LAW NUMBER
 T.C.A. 68-104-101 et seq.
 

 

Texas

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted All fireworks meeting requirements of CPSC and DOT Consumer Fireworks definitions, except for small rockets (less than 4 gms propellant, and casings less than ?” x 3 ½” overall length.)
Specifically Prohibited Small rockets (see above.)
Selling Period June 24-July 4 and December 20-January 1
Retail Sale An annual, non-renewable, retail fireworks permit is required for each retail location, $20 fee. Expires January 31 each year. May be purchased from a licensed manufacturer, distributor or jobber.
Age of Purchase 12 years


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Required. Written application to State Fire Marshal at least one day before display date, $50 fee.
Insurance Required, not less than $500,000 general liability insurance.
Special Effects Operator Annual operator’s license fee in an amount not to exceed $100. Applicant must take and pass an exam, if required. Must have assisted in at least five public displays and be at least 21 years of age.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  State regulations relating to manufacturing, storing and transportation.


LICENSING
  Annual licenses required, including non-residents. Apply to State Fire Marshal, valid one year from date of issue. Retail permittees may purchase fireworks only from a distributor or manufacturer or jobber licensed by the State.
Manufacturer $1000
Distributor $1500
Jobber $1000
Public Display: Single $50, Multiple $400


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  Texas Dept of Insurance, State Fire Marshal’s Office
P.O. Box 149221
Austin, TX 78714-9221
512-305-7900
www.tdi.state.tx.us/fire/indexfm.html


LAW NUMBER
 TX Code Chpt. 2154; Rules 28 TAC 34.800
 

 

Utah

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Cylindrical and cone fountains (effects no higher than 15’,) wheels with no more than 6 drivers, ground spinners, flitter sparklers, smoke devices, wire sparklers under 12” in length, party poppers, trick noisemakers, ground chasers that do not travel more than 10 feet laterally, snakes, and glow worms. Samples must be tested by State Fire Marshal and be listed on a published list of approved fireworks.
Specifically Prohibited Firecrackers, cannon crackers, salutes, cherry bombs, sky rockets, roman candles, aerial fireworks that have effects higher than 15’, and chasers, whistlers, or other devices that travel more than 10’ laterally on a smooth surface or exceed 15’ in height when discharged.
Selling Period June 20-July 25, December 20-January 2, and 15 days before and on the Chinese New Year


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Required by local authorities. Fee may be required.
Insurance May be required. Amount set by local authorities.
Operator Must apply to State Fire Marshal, pay $10 annual fee, and demonstrate proof of competence.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  Storage and handling requirements in law.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  State Fire Marshal
Utah Dept of Public Safety
5272 College Drive, Suite 302
Murray, UT 84123
801-284-6350
www.firemarshal.utah.gov/


LAW NUMBER
 Utah Code Annotated, Sections 53-7-221 through 53-
7-225 (1993), Utah Code Annotated, Sections 11-3-1
through 11-1-11 (1993).
 

 

Vermont

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Sparklers less than 14” long with no more than 20 grams of pyrotechnic mixture. Novelty sparkling items limited to snakes, party poppers, glow worms, smoke devices, string poppers, snappers, or drop pops with no more than 0.25 grains of explosive mixture, and that are in compliance with CPSC regulations.
Specifically Prohibited Firecrackers, skyrockets, roman candles, torpedoes, and daygo bombs.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to local authorities at least 15 days before display date.
Insurance No amount specified in state law but may be required by local authorities.
Operator No license specifically required in state law but display must be under competent operator approved by local authorities in area where display is to be held.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  Vermont Department of Labor and Industry
National Life Building
Drawer 20
Montpelier, Vermont 05620-3401
802-828-2288
www.state.vt.us/labind/Fire/sparklers.htm


LAW NUMBER
 Acts of General Assembly No. 93, 1953
 

 

Virginia

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Sparklers, fountains, pharaoh’s serpents, pinwheels, and whirligigs.
Specifically Prohibited Firecrackers, skyrockets, torpedoes, and other fireworks which explode, travel laterally, rise into the air, or fire projectiles into the air.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to local authorities at least 15 days before display date.
Insurance Bond adequate to pay for all damages to persons or property is required.
Operator No license specifically required in state law.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  Banned items may not be transported, stored or manufactured.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  Commonwealth of Virginia
Dept of Housing & Community Development
Office of State Fire Marshal
501 N 2nd Street
Richmond, VA 23219
804-371-7170
www.dhcd.vipnet.org/State_Fire_Marshal/

or

Local fire officials in those areas in which the local
governing body has elected to enforce the Statewide
Fire Prevention Code.


LAW NUMBER
 Code of Virginia, Chap. 11, Sec. 59-1-142 et seq.
Statewide Fire Prevention Code Art. 27
NFPA 1123, NFPA 1124, and NFPA 1126
 

 

Washington

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted As defined by DOT not specifically prohibited (see below) unless prohibited by local ordinance.
Specifically Prohibited Firecrackers, skyrockets, salutes, chasers, and bottle rockets.
Selling Period Noon, June 28-July 6 and December 31 6pm-12am.
Sales State Fire Marshal shall prepare an annual list of permitted items. Sales locations and safety precautions specified in law. Local permit required in addition to state license. Employee’s minimum age 18 years. Sales prohibited to persons under 16 years of age.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to State Fire Marshal and local authorities at least 10 days prior to display date, $50 fee. State license required for local permit. Special state license authorizes displays at given location only. General state license authorizes displays at various locations.
Insurance Required. Amount of bond or insurance shall not be less than $50,000 and $1 million for bodily injury liability for each person and event respectively, and not less than $25,000 for property damage for each event.
Operator State license required, apply to State Fire Marshal. Written exam and evidence of qualifications and experience (participation in at least 6 shows) required, $10 fee. Two experienced operators required per display. Safe display techniques specified in law.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  Requires license from State Fire Marshal and permits from State Dept of Labor and Industries, and ATF.

Requires permit of State Dept of Labor and Industries, and local and federal permit. Local approval requires compliance with uniform building code, uniform fire code and local ordinances.

Permit required by federal jurisdiction and State Dept of Transportation. Delivery of fireworks to the state or from this state to another requires an importer license issued by the State Fire Marshal. Requirements do not apply to common carriers or to international or domestic water carriers engaged in interstate commerce.


LICENSING
  State licenses required annually; apply to State Fire Marshal. License good for calendar year. Local permits also required, local fee may not exceed $100.

Manufacturer $ 2000
Importer/Exporter $ 1000
Wholesaler $2000 Retailer (per outlet) $40


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  Washington State Patrol, Fire Protection Bureau
General Administration Building
P.O. Box 42600
Olympia, WA 98504-2600
360-705-5770


LAW NUMBER
 WA State Law, Ch. 70.77, WA Admin Codes, Ch. 212-17-01-001 et seq.
 

 

Washington, D.C.

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Toy paper caps containing not more than 0.25 grain of explosive composition per cap, sparklers less than 20”in length, torches, box fire, fountains, cones, dip sticks, non-poisonous snakes, novelties, and colored lights.
Specifically Prohibited Firecrackers of any kind of description. Any fireworks that explode, (cherry bombs, salutes, roman candles, floral shells, artillery shells,) or intended to move after the piece is placed and fires (bottle rockets, parachutes, buzz bombs, pinwheels, helicopters, jumping jacks.) Sparklers more than 20” in length that contain dangerous chemicals, or any highly oxidizing agent. Fireworks having a side fuse, or a fuse inserted at any point along the length of the firework, and any firework found by the Fire Chief to be dangerous to the safety of any person or property.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Must be approved by the Fire Chief, Director of the Office of Emergency Preparedness, Corporation Counsel, and Director of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs.
Insurance Required: $1,000,000 Min. to $3,000,000 Max.
Operator License specifically required in city law.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  Apply to Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs for storage permit. Manufacture and storage of banned fireworks prohibited.


LICENSING
  Apply to Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs for wholesaler or retail license. Minimum age for wholesale license 21 years.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  Fire Marshal D.C. Fire Department Fire Prevention Division
441 4th Street, NW, Suite 370-N
Washington, DC 20001 202-727-1614


LAW NUMBER
 Title 7, Chapter 10, Section 101
BOCA 1996
 

 

West Virginia

.

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Sparkling devices (fountains, wire sparklers, trick noisemakers, smoke devices, snakes).
Specifically Prohibited Firecrackers, torpedoes, sky rockets, roman candles, daygo bombs.
Selling Period Year-round
Retail Sale Business registration certificate and a Sparklers and Novelties Registration Certificate are required, $15 fee.
Minimum Age to Purchase 16 Years Old


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to State Fire Marshal and local authorities at least 15 days before display date. Non-residents must appoint an in-state legal representative to obtain license, if the local authorities require legal representation.
Insurance Required Minimum $500,000. Local authorities may require a $1,000 bond.
Operator Minimum age: 21 years. State license required; apply to State Fire Marshal. Two operators are required per display.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  Labeling, storage, and transportation regulations specified in law.


LICENSING
  Manufacturing license required. Apply first to local authorities, then to state authorities.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  West Virginia State Fire Marshal
Regulatory & Licensing Division
1207 Quarrier Street, 2nd Floor
Charleston, WV 25201
304-558-2191


LAW NUMBER
 West Virginia Code, Chapter 29, Article 3, Sec. 23
and 24 as amended.
 

 

Wisconsin

 

 

CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Cylinder fountains, cone fountains, sparklers containing no magnesium, chlorate or perchlorate; snakes containing no mercury, small smoke devices.
Specifically Prohibited Firecrackers, wheels, torpedoes, skyrockets, roman candles, aerial salutes, and bombs.


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to local authorities.
Insurance None specifically required in state law; may be required at local level.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  Wholesalers, dealers and distributors must notify local authorities of location where fireworks are stored and handled. Safe storage areas specified in law. License required to manufacture.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  All enforcement at local level, except manufacturing
enforced by:
Wisconsin Department of Commerce
Division of Safety and Buildings
201 W. Washington Ave., 4th Floor
Madison, WI 53701


LAW NUMBER
 167.10 Wisconsin Statutes
 

 

Wyoming

 

 



CONSUMER FIREWORKS
Specifically Permitted Consumer Fireworks meeting requirements of the CPSC.
Specifically Prohibited None


DISPLAY FIREWORKS
Display Permit Apply to local authorities at least 14 days in advance.
Insurance Permittee must furnish a bond or insurance certificate in an amount deemed adequate by the AHJ.
Operator No license specifically required in law, but display must be handled by a competent operator.


MANUFACTURE, STORAGE, TRANSPORTATION
  Safe storage areas specified in law and Uniform Fire Code 1997 edition.


ENFORCING AUTHORITY
  State Fire Marshal
State of Wyoming
122 W. 25th, 1st Floor
West Wing Cheyenne, WY 82002
307-777-7288


LAW NUMBER
 Wyoming Statutes, 35-10-201